My name is Charlton C. Tod

I’m afraid I have to admit, I’ve never really given blogging much consideration in the past. It’s been around for over two decades, at least, and there are millions of blogs out there already, written by just about anyone for any reason. For most people, it’s as easy as simply making an entry into a journal. But, as a writer, you have to wonder where to begin, or what subject to write about. Regardless, I decided to start one to share my opinions, thoughts, and musings that come from my writings.

I suppose a good place to begin is to discuss my personal method for writing, and how I began in erotica. It’s not the most elegant first post, but I suppose it’s suitable enough.

Like most erotica writers, I began as an avid reader of erotica. As some of you may know, I first came across this naughty genre when I was in high school. Technically, I wasn’t of age to be reading it on the school’s computers, but I was rebellious, and chose to do a lot of things that weren’t allowed in my school. Anyways, I can’t remember what kind of story it was, only that I think it was something kinda vanilla. It was still one of the most enthralling things I’d ever read, and it made me want to read more. Soon, I found myself sneaking in a quick read whenever time permitted, which was quite often.

At some point, I had decided I had read enough to understand how it was done, so I wrote my first story. I never let anybody else read it, and kept it hidden away from my parents. At night, I would sometimes pull it out, and read it to myself, and wonder what other readers might say about it. It took me about a year to muster the courage to write one for the public to see, and I posted it anonymously. It wasn’t a great story, but people seemed to like it anyway. It gave me the confidence to write some more.

I won’t say I made a career out of writing erotica, but it’s still one of my favorite hobbies, and it’s never gotten boring for me. Sometimes it’s difficult to find inspiration, but I’ve managed to come up with some interesting ideas on my own. However, I find the best inspiration from friends and fans. They often confide in me about some of their deepest fantasies, and I help breathe life into them by re-enacting it in written word. To this day, my best stories are born from the fantasies of others.

Now, when it comes to writing something hot and steamy, there’s a few things I keep in mind, which you may choose to do as well. Or not, I’m not going to tell you that my method is totally correct, but it’s my personal view. The first is to consider the reader’s imagination. When you read a story, you often play out the scene as the words are read. This may seem like a no-brainer, but I say this because I’ve read many stories from young writers who tend to play out a scene too quickly. Sometimes, a sexual interaction is reduced to the capacity of one, or two, paragraphs. It’s the written equivalent of premature ejaculation.

But fear not! Longer, and more satisfying, sex is within your grasp. I won’t even charge you for it.

The next thing to remember is the use of the five senses. During sex, all five senses are stimulated, at some point, and describing what each sense is experiencing can help the reader become part of the story. You’re painting an erotic portrait in their minds, but being visual can only bring them so far. When you can make a reader smell a man’s musk, or feel how soft, or firm, someone’s body is, or even the taste of a woman when she’s been a good girl, it helps the reader’s experience, and allows them to place themselves in the story. You don’t have to include every stimulation your characters experience, but using them like triggers in your story, you can help the reader feel aroused at the opportune moment.

While we’re on the topic of stimulation, let’s talk about sensations! This is another really great way to help your reader feel like a part of the experience. Everyone has an erogenous zone on their body, or something their partner does which drives them wild with lust; characters have them as well. Include the little sensations, like a tingling that travels up your body, or the tightness in your chest during climax, or even the soreness and sensitivity that you have post-coitus. Your reader will be able to relate to their own previous experiences, and even cause them to psychosomatically feel these sensations themselves.

Keeping these things in mind, you can easily have a sex scene last well over 1,500 words. Ultimately, when I try to write a story for you, I want to captivate you. I want you to squirm in your seat, your cheeks to become flush, your skin hot, and your fingers itching to reach into your pants. My name is Charlton C. Tod, and I want to become the naughty little secret you keep hidden away.

Leave a Reply

